AFK messages allow you to automatically display a message to users who ping you. This allows you to explain why you might not be responding or when you'll be back. AFK messages have a 100-character limit to prevent abuse and you are unable to use clickable links/user mentions in the message. Currently, AFK messages default to being permanent and will last until you or a server admin removes it. This behavior can be configured.
AFK messages will also have a trashcan button added to them. When clicked, it will delete the AFK message in order to keep the channel clean. It will not remove the user from being AFK however.
You are able to set your own AFK message by typing
/afk <message>. If you ever forget what you have your AFK message set to you can always type
/afk without any message and it'll show what message you currently have set. (If one is set)
Your AFK message will not be sent if a BOT mentions you or if you mention yourself.
Users who have the
Manage Serverpermission node can force remove a user's AFK message using the
You are able to remove your own AFK message by typing the
Server moderators with Manage Server can also remove AFK statuses from the web dashboard and see a list of all currently applied AFK messages.
You can also configure AFK messages further by using our Web Dashboard. There are a few options you can change:
[AFK] prefix to a user's nickname when they go AFK and remove it when they are no longer AFK.
In order for Cakey Bot to modify other user's nicknames Cakey Bot must have the
Manage Nicknamespermission AND Cakey Bot's highest role must exceed the user's highest role.
You can also view all AFK users here.